An Icy Hug

Haiku for December 2022

K R Smith
1 min readDec 29, 2022

Again, I’d like to apologize for not posting as often as I’d like. I’m barely making my post in time! It’s been a busy month with unplanned travel and other projects that couldn’t be delayed. So, I’ll thank everyone who might still be following hoping I’d post another haiku (or anything, for that matter!).

And, now, onto the haiku!

December is here, along with the anticipated colder weather. The snow has arrived, too. It covers the land with icy crystals protecting the world sleeping beneath.

A winter landscape under grey skies. It is snowing lightly. A large conifer tree stands to the right. The image was taken in Bath, Michigan, by K. R. Smith in December of 2022.

For those using a screen reader, the haiku is:

A blanket of ice
Holds the sleeping Earth below
In a cold embrace

To see links to my other haiku posts, please check this LIST!
To see links to all my writing on Medium, click HERE (via Patreon).
And if you read and enjoy my writing, please consider following me here on Medium!

--

--

K R Smith

Writing, artwork, music — maybe even a recipe for chili.