The Great Debate

Do they or don’t they? I guess it all depends…

K R Smith
3 min readNov 11, 2021

I have a YA / Coming of Age story I’ve been working on since the Paleozoic Era. It just doesn’t feel quite right yet, so I only work on it from time to time. Little did I know a Twitter discussion would have me re-evaluating some of the scenes. Or maybe not changing them at all.

A row of lockers along a hallway in a school. Photo by Ava Dickson on Unsplash.
Photo by Ava Dickson on Unsplash

It all involves lockers.

I saw a Twitter discussion on whether or not kids in high school still use their lockers. Admitting that the metal used in the lockers at most schools was still in the ore stage when I attended, it seemed prudent to follow the topic for a bit since a few scenes in the aforementioned tale take place around a locker. Would they need to be rewritten?

Apparently, it all depends on the location of the school.

Some stated their kids have never used their locker. Some did not even have a locker assigned. Others used them occasionally, usually at the beginning of the day. Others said their kids told them they used them mainly at the beginning and the end of the day. Only a tiny minority said they went to their lockers between classes.

The main reason given for the limited use of lockers was the small window of time between classes that seldom allowed students to go to their locker and make it to the next class on time…

--

--

K R Smith

Writing, artwork, music — maybe even a recipe for chili.